FSF NEWS: The Football Supporters’ Federation Writers Awards in FSFlogoassociation with William Hill, Monday 16th December 

The Football Supporters’ Federation is delighted to announce that the 2013 Writers Awards ceremony, in association with William Hill, will take place on Monday 16th December at the Emirates Stadium, London.

The awards, hosted by James Richardson, will reward the very best in football from the top player in all of the English divisions to the fans podcast. Winners will be selected by public vote following a nominations process – which is now open.

All fans need to do is email awards@fsf.org.uk with their nominations for each category. In November a shortlist will be announced allowing fans to cast a vote for their favourites.

This year’s awards will also incorporate the fans’ Commentator and Away Day of the Year which echoes one of the FSF’s headline campaigns – ‘Away Fans Matter.’

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said:

“We’re delighted to launch the FSF Writers Awards in association with William Hill and I’d like to encourage all fans to get involved. Whether it’s your favourite player, pundit or away day, we want to hear from you.

“Fans are the foundation on which the professional game is built. These awards will recognise the best in the business and that recognition couldn’t come from a more reputable source than the fans.” 

James Richardson, the host of the 2013 FSF Writers Awards, said:

“It’s a big honour to be chosen to present the 2013 FSF Writers Awards. These awards are a celebration of everything good in football and who better to reward the winners than real fans from across the country.”

The categories are:

  • Away Day of the Year
  • Blogger of the Year
  • Commentator of the Year
  • Fanzine of the Year
  • Independent Website of the Year
  • Newspaper of the Year
  • Player of the Year
  • Podcast of the Year
  • Pundit of the Year
  • Writer of the Year 


Email awards@fsf.org.uk with your nominations before 9am on Monday 28th October (maximum three nominations per category). Shortlists and voting will take place in November.